Pyramids Industrial Parks Cairo

Master Plan Concept

Working Internationally a Matter of Course

As part of an initiative of the Egyptian Ministry of Trade & Industry, a series of industrial and business parks was to be created under private-sector management across the country. Based on its experience in numerous countries worldwide, aib has taken on various planning tasks for the investor consortium PI Parks (Pyramids Industrial Parks).

 

Setting standards

The master plan Industria West serves as a prototype for a park concept which is innovative for Egypt and creates recognisable planning and concept standards for PI Parks. The goal is to bring high-quality sites to the market which, besides location quality and a complete range of technical infrastructure, offer further services in a contemporary urban structure down to integration of residential functions.

 

 

Designing in a Team

The programme elements were systematically worked out in workshops with the assistance of the client and a local planning team. The result is an urban compressed space structure developed around a central green area.

 

This central park unites the industrial areas with the higher-quality commercial functions and the spaces reserved for residential use. This green space, which also serves as a buffer zone, accommodates all public and representative functions such as services, catering, shopping opportunities etc. As an urban figure, this space in the area of the main utilities opens up widely to the outside world, so the industrial park does not appear hermetically sealed despite the usual fencing required locally.

  • Project Info

    Client: PI Parks

    Location: Egypt

    Surface Area: 2 x approx. 100 ha

    Costs: No information

    Team aib: Christof Nellehsen, Martin Linge, Gülcan Cermik, Robert Meyer-Pyritz

    aib Services: Concept planning

    Cooperation: Project-S, Berlin

Pyramids Zona Franca

Master Planning

Spanish-Egyptian Joint Venture

The Egyptian investment consortium Pyramids Industrial Parks, together with the Spanish company, el consorci from Barcelona, is developing industrial and commer-cial spaces northeast of Cairo as part of an initiative of the Egyptian Ministry of Trade and Industry. aib has developed a master plan for a 200 hectare site for this joint venture.

 

 

 

 

Developing Concepts further

Building on the concept that aib developed for PI Parks in 2008, the concept of the central park to accommodate prestigious service functions and room for recuperation for this major industrial park, in particular, has proven itself as a planning strategy. Urban main roads, which will be created in the form of avenues, connect from several sides to the central park in this industrial site.

 

International Standard and site-specific Requirements

Based on workshops developed by aib for similar projects, the program elements were systematically developed in this project, too, with the involvement of the client and a local planning team. Site-specific requirements, above all, were taken into account thereby. Besides the requirement that the site has to be fenced in, aspects like infrastructure to be designed largely autonomously down to driving styles (be-cause of which as many T-junctions as possible are advisable) characterise the planning.

  • Project Info

    Client: PI Parks

    Location: Egypt

    Period: 2010-2011

    Surface Area: 200 ha

    Costs: No information

    Team aib: Christof Nellehsen, Martin Linge, Robert Meyer-Pyritz

    aib Services: Master planning

German

Imprint and data protection

Pyramids Industrial Parks

Masterplankonzept

Internationales Arbeiten mit Selbstverständnis

Im Rahmen einer Initiative des ägyptischen Handels- und Industrieministeriums sollen unter privatwirtschaftlichem Management landesweit eine Reihe von Industrie- und Gewerbeparks entstehen. Für das Investorenkonsortium PI Parks (Pyramids Industrial Parks) hat aib  - auf Basis der Erfahrung in zahlreichen Ländern weltweit - verschiedene Planungsaufgaben übernommen.

 

Standards setzen

Der Masterplan  Industria West dient als Prototyp eines für Ägypten innovativen Parkkonzeptes und schafft wiedererkennbare Planungs- und Konzeptstandards für PI Parks. Ziel ist es, hochwertige Flächen auf den Markt zu bringen, die neben Lagequalität und dem vollständigen Angebot technischer Infrastruktur in einer städtebaulich zeitgemäßen Struktur weitere Dienstleistungen bis hin zur Integration von Wohnfunktionen anbieten.

 

 

Entwerfen im Team

In Arbeitsworkshops wurden unter Mitwirkung des Auftraggebers und eines örtlichen Planungsteams die Programmelemente in einer Analysephase systematisch erarbeitet. Das Ergebnis ist eine urban verdichtete Raumstruktur, die um eine zentrale Grünfläche entwickelt ist.

 

Dieser zentrale Park verbindet die Industrieflächen mit den höherwertigen Gewerbefunktionen und den für Wohnnutzung reservierten Flächen. In diesem Grünraum, der auch als Pufferzone dient, sind alle öffentlichen und repräsentativen Funktionen wie Dienstleistungen, Verpflegung, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten etc. untergebracht. Als städtebauliche Figur öffnet sich dieser Raum im Bereich der Haupterschließung weiträumig nach Außen, so dass der Industriepark trotz seiner ortsüblich vorgeschriebenen Einzäumung nicht hermetisch wirkt.

  • Projektinfo

    Auftraggeber: PI Parks

    Standort: Ägypten

    Fläche: 2 x ca. 100 ha

    Kosten: keine Angaben

    Team aib: Christof Nellehsen, Martin Linge, Gülcan Cermik, Robert Meyer-Pyritz

    Leis­tun­gen aib: Konzeptplanung

    Kooperationspartner: Project-S, Berlin

     

Pyramids Zona Franca

Masterplan

Spanisch-ägyptisches Joint Venture

Das ägyptische Investorenkonsortium PI Parks Pyramids Industrial Parks entwickelt gemeinsam mit der spanischen Gesellschaft el consorci aus Barcelona im Rahmen einer Initiative des ägyptischen Handels- und Industrieministeriums Industrie- und Gewerbeflächen nordöstlich von Kairo. aib hat für dieses Joint Venture einen Masterplan für ein 200 ha großes Areal entwickelt.

 

 

 

 

Konzepte weiterentwickeln

Aufbauend auf dem Konzept, das aib im Jahr 2008 für PI Parks entwickelte, hat sich für diesen groß­en Industriepark insbesondere das Konzept des zentralen Parks zur Aufnahme von repräsentativen Dienstleistungsfunktionen und Erholungsraum als Planungsstrategie bewährt. Baulich urban gefasste Haupterschließungsstraßen, die als Alleen ausgestaltet werden sollen, erschließen in diesem Industriegelände von mehreren Seiten den zentralen Park.

 

Internationaler Standard und ortspezifische Anforderungen

Auf Basis der von aib für vergleichbare Aufgaben entwickelten Arbeitsworkshops wurden auch in diesem Projekt unter Mitwirkung des Auftrag-gebers und eines örtlichen Planungsteams die Programmelemente in einer Analysephase syste­matisch herausgearbeitet. Dabei wurden vor allem ortspezifische Anforderungen berücksichtigt. Neben der Vorschrift, dass die Areale eingezäumt werden müssen, prägen die Planung auch Aspekte wie eine weitgehend autonom zu konzipierende Infrastruktur bis hin zu Fahrgewohnheiten (aufgrund derer für Haupterschließungen möglichst T-Kreuzungen rat­sam sind).

  • Projektinfo

    Auftraggeber: PI Parks

    Standort: Ägypten

    Zeitraum: 2010-2011

    Fläche: 200 ha

    Kosten: keine Angaben

    Team aib: Christof Nellehsen, Martin Linge, Robert Meyer-Pyritz

    Leistungen aib: Masterplan

Englisch

Impressum

Presse