Barmenia Versicherungen

Extension, Reconstruction and Redevelopment of Headquarters

Starting Situation

The existing buildings from the 1970’s and 80’s used at the site of Barmenia Versicherungen in Wuppertal no longer met the growing needs of the user with its around 1400 employees and numerous training courses. Against that background, Barmenia decided to expand the location by a further building. The existing buildings were to be renovated within the context of this measure.

 

Project Development

For the development of a master plan, aib was entrusted both with the overall general planning and with project control services. As part of the master plan, aib developed a new building arrangement, with which the company leaves the existing, fragmented situation behind it. With the new planning, the building compression creates not only optimisation of the need for space, but at the same time a clear improvement of workplace quality.

 

Task

To achieve the ambitious project goals in terms of function, quality, costs and dead-lines, aib is handling the project control tasks for all areas. With an external controller, aib is closely coordinating the work.

 

Complexity

To be able to maintain the entire operation, i.e. preserving the routes between the existing buildings, data centre operation, partial relocations etc., the individual works had to be built in phases. Before demolition, existing buildings had to be cleared of pollutants, which entailed great effort. During the new building, rebuilding and renovation work at the Barmenia site, the entire operation for the around 1,400 employees has to be upheld. The need to partly build over an existing building/data centre with bridge girders (Vierendeel girders)  increases the already high complexity of the project as a whole.

 

Execution

At the beginning of the project, aib developed an organisation manual, which makes a significant contribution to a smooth handling of the entire project.

 

Under the leadership of aib, the user needs of the contract principal were defined in a user needs program. This created a yardstick for the project goals across all project phases. This process analysis was carried out in user interviews with up to ten thematic areas in the form of workshops, executive board discussions, steering committee meetings and working groups with Barmenia.

 

Costs, Deadlines, Consulting

Cost control units were used for optimum costs monitoring of user-specific information, tax aspects, building in situ whilst maintaining operations and the like. This is an indispensable aid in the support for seven existing buildings and over 15 construction stages.

 

Against the background of the complex starting situation described above, the scheduling takes on particular significance. Network layout-supported schedules were developed and constantly updated for all new-build, rebuild and renovation measures.

 

Over and above the pure preparation of decisions, aib gave the client clear recommendations on all building, planning and building law issues in the sense of extensive proactive consulting. aib carried out the project control work until the planning permit was granted.

 

Status Quo

The project is now in the realisation phase for the 2nd group and the interim buildings. In the meantime, one can state that the costs calculation drawn up by aib in 2003 was adhered to.

The timing information from aib from the mater, general and rough process plans of the planning phase has largely held true despite the high complexity in terms of logistics and execution.

 

  • Project Info

    Client: Barmenia Krankenversicherung aG

    Location: Wuppertal

    Gross Floor Area (GFA): 42,000 m²

    Rebuilding and Renovation: 30,000 m²

    Construction Costs: 130 million EUR

    Team aib: Oliver Keil, Heinz-Günter Lang

    aib Services: Project Control until Planning Permit Granted

    Design: aib GmbH

German

Imprint and data protection

Englisch

Barmenia Versicherungen

Erweiterung, Umbau und Sanierung der Hauptverwaltung

Ausgangssituation

Die am Standort der Barmenia Versicherungen in Wuppertal genutzten Bestandsgebäude aus den 70er und 80er Jahren genügten den wachsenden Anforderungen des Nutzers mit seinen rund 1.400 Mitarbeitern und zahlreichen Schulungen nicht mehr. Vor diesem Hintergrund beschloss die Barmenia, den Standort um eine weitere Immobilie zu erweitern. Im Zuge dieser Maßnahme sollten die Bestandsgebäude saniert werden.

 

Projektentwicklung

Zur Entwicklung eines Masterplans wurde aib sowohl mit der gesamten Generalplanung als auch mit Leistungen der Projektsteuerung beauftragt. Im Rahmen des Masterplans entwickelte aib eine neue Gebäudeordnung, mit der das Unternehmen die bestehende zusammenhanglose Anlage hinter sich lässt. Mit der Neuplanung ist durch die bauliche Verdichtung nicht nur eine Optimierung des Flächenbedarfs, sondern gleichzeitig eine deutliche Verbesserung der Arbeitsplatzqualität entstanden.

 

Aufgabe

Zur Erreichung der ehrgeizig gesetzten Projektziele hinsichtlich Funktion, Qualität, Kosten und Terminen führte aib für dieses Großprojekt die Projektsteuerungsaufgaben für alle Handlungsbereiche durch. Mit einem externen Controller wurden die Vorgänge durch aib eng koordiniert.

 

Komplexität

Die einzelnen Bauwerke mussten zur Aufrechterhaltung des gesamten Betriebes, d. h. Erhalt der Wegebeziehungen Bestandsgebäude, Betrieb Rechenzentrum, Teilumzüge etc. zeitversetzt errichtet werden. Bestandsgebäude müssen teilweise vor dem Abbruch aufwändig von Schadstoffen saniert werden. Während der Neubau-, Umbau- und  Sanierungsmaßnahmen am Standort der Barmenia war der gesamte Betrieb für die rund 1400 Mitarbeiter aufrechtzuerhalten. Die Teilüberbauung eines Bestandsgebäudes/Rechenzentrums mit Brückenträgern steigerte die ohnehin hohe Komplexität des Gesamtprojektes.

 

Durchführung

Zu Beginn des Projektes entwickelte aib ein Organisationshandbuch, welches wesentlich zu einer reibungslosen Abwicklung des Gesamtprojektes beiträgt.

 

Unter Führung der aib wurde der Nutzerwille des Bauherrn in einem Nutzerbedarfsprogramm definiert. Somit entstand eine über alle Projektstufen hinweg projektbegleitende Messlatte der Projektziele. Diese Prozessanalyse wurde in Nutzergesprächen mit bis zu 10 Themengebieten in Form von Workshops, Vorstandsgesprächen, Lenkungsausschusssitzungen und Arbeitskreisen mit Barmenia geführt.

 

Kosten, Termine, Beratung

Zur optimalen Kostenverfolgung von nutzerspezifischen Angaben, steuerlichen Gesichtspunkten, Bauen im Bestand unter Aufrechterhaltung des Betriebes und ähnlichem wurden Kostenkontrolleinheiten eingesetzt. Dies ist unerlässliches Hilfsmittel bei der Betreuung von sieben Bestandsbauten und über 15 Bauabschnitten.

 

Vor dem Hintergrund der zuvor beschriebenen komplexen Ausgangssituation kommt der Terminplanung eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Netzplangestützte Terminpläne wurden für sämtliche Neu-, Umbau- und Sanierungsmaßnahmen entwickelt und ständig fortgeschrieben.

 

Über die reine Vorbereitung von Entscheidungen hinaus sprach aib dem Auftraggeber in allen baulichen, planerischen und baurechtlichen Fragen im Sinne einer umfangreichen proaktiven Beratung klare Empfehlungen aus. Die Projektsteuerungsleistungen wurden bis zur Baugenehmigung von aib durchgeführt.

 

Status quo

In der Zwischenzeit kann festgestellt werden, dass die von aib aufgestellte Kostenberechnung aus dem Jahre 2003 eingehalten wurde. Die terminlichen Angaben von aib  aus den Rahmen-, General- und Grobablaufplänen der Planungsphase haben trotz der hohen Komplexität in der Logistik und Bauausführung im Wesentlichen nach wie vor Bestand.

  • Projektinfo

    Auftraggeber: Barmenia Krankenversicherung aG

    Standort: Wuppertal

    Bruttogeschossfläche (BGF): 42.000 m²

    Umbau und Sanierung: 30.000 m²

    Baukosten: 130 Mio. €

    Team aib: Oliver Keil, Heinz-Günter Lang

    Leistungen aib: Projektsteuerung bis zur Baugenehmigung, Projektsteuerung

    Entwurf: aib GmbH