AIXTRON

New-build Research and Development Centre

Coping with Complexity

AIXTRON AG (based in Herzogenrath near Aachen) is a worldwide leading manufacturer of deposition systems for the semiconductor industry and has realised a new research & development centre on a site of approx. 60 hectares in phases. As one coherent building, this breaks down into the areas of laboratory, production, systems/facilities, logistics, offices and communal areas.

The many different usage areas within the building complex and the special technical and business requirements associated with a high realisation tempo demand a high level of organisation, technical-financial coordination, as well as deadline and costs management.

 

Picking up Tempo

The predictively controlled realisation of the project goals provides for tempo. The almost simultaneous execution of the planning with the contract award to a general contractor needs particular attention. Besides carrying out the prequalification of the GCs, aib took on the coordination and timely integration of the planning and project goals in the negotiating process. Among other things, potential savings were uncovered and realised. aib supported technical and led commercial negotiations in the area of contract management until the order was placed both for the 1st phase “Office” and for the 2nd phase “Systems”.

 

From Start to Finish

Besides knowhow and the ability to accelerate processes by acting with foresight, realising fast-track projects also requires an anticipative stance. As part of execution of the 1st phase, aib therefore continuously compared plan and actual in order to identify potential risks at an early stage and initiate countermeasures. Its execution competence put aib in a position to express clear recommendations to AIXTRON in the sense of extensive proactive consulting. Fair Play and integration in the construction team go without saying for aib, and were realised in this project too. The 1st phase, Office, was handed over to AIXTRON on time and on budget after only nine months of planning and construction time.

 

  • Project Info

    Client: AIXTRON AG

    Location: Herzogenrath

    Site Size: 60 hectares

    Gross Floor Area (GFA):

    1st phase Office: 8,200 m²

    2nd phase Technical, Production and
    Logistics: 13,500 m²

    Team aib: Oliver Keil, Karsten Schulte

    Leis­tun­gen aib: Project Control, Technical Consulting

    Cooperation: agiplan GmbH

    Design: nbp architekten

German

Imprint and data protection

Englisch

AIXTRON

Neubau Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum

Komplexität bewältigen

Die AIXTRON AG (mit Sitz in Herzogenrath bei Aachen) ist ein weltweit führender Hersteller von Depositions-Anlagen für die Halbleiterindustrie und hat auf einer Fläche von ca. 60 ha stufenweise ein neues Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum realisiert. Dieses gliedert sich als zusammenhängendes Bauwerk in die Bereiche Labor, Produktion, Technik/Facilities, Logistik, Büro und Sozialbereiche.

 

Die Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Nutzungsbereiche innerhalb des Gebäudekomplexes, besondere technische und ökonomische Anforderungen, verbunden mit einem hohen Realisierungstempo fordern ein hohes Maß an Organisation, technisch-wirtschaftlicher Koordination sowie Termin- und Kostenmanagement.

 

Tempo aufnehmen

Die vorausschauend gesteuerte Umsetzung der Projektziele sorgt für Tempo. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt hier der fast zeitgleichen Durchführung der Planung mit der Vergabe an einen Generalunternehmer. aib hat neben der Durchführung der Präqualifizierung der GUs die Koordination und rechtzeitige Integration der Planungs- und Projektziele in den Verhandlungsprozess übernommen. U.a. werden Einsparpotenziale aufgezeigt und umgesetzt. aib begleitete technische und führte kaufmännische Verhandlungen im Bereich Vertragsmanagement bis zum Auftrag sowohl für den 1. BA Office, aber auch für den 2. BA Technik.

 

Von der Startaufstellung bis zum Ziel

Bei der Realisierung von Fast-Track-Projekten ist neben Fachwissen und der Fähigkeit, durch vorausschauendes Handeln Prozesse zu beschleunigen ebenfalls eine antizipative Haltung gefragt. Im Zuge der Ausführung des 1. Bauabschnitts Office erfolgte durch aib daher laufend der Abgleich von Soll und Ist, um mögliche Risiken frühzeitig zu identifizieren und Gegenmaßnahmen einzuleiten. Durch ihre Ausführungskompetenz war aib in der Lage, im Sinne einer umfangreichen proaktiven Beratung klare Empfehlungen zur Entscheidungsfindung an AIXTRON auszusprechen. Fair Play und die Integration in das Bauteam sind eine selbstverständliche Haltung der aib und wurden auch in diesem Projekt realisiert. Der 1. Bauabschnitt Office wurde termin- und kostengerecht nach nur neun Monaten Planungs- und Bauzeit an AIXTRON übergeben.

 

  • Projektinfo

    Auftraggeber: AIXTRON AG, Herzogenrath

    Standort: Herzogenrath

    Größe des Planungsgebietes: 60 ha

    Bruttogeschossfläche (BGF):

    1. Bauabschnitt Office: 8.200 m²

    2. Bauabschnitt Technikum, Produktion und Logistik: 13.500 m²

    Team aib: Oliver Keil, Karsten Schulte

    Leis­tun­gen aib: Projektsteuerung, Bautechnische Beratung, Projektsteuerung

    Kooperationspartner: agiplan GmbH

    Entwurf: nbp architekten