MAN Diesel & Turbo

Turbocharger Performance Center and Media Building

Highly complex planning for a visionary building

Based on an aib feasibility study, the Augsburg site of Man Diesel & Turbo SE is being extended by a unique building: the new to Turbocharger Performance Center (TPC) will be used to develop and test turborchargers for large diesel engines. Highly complex processes come together with a trend-setting test technology, thus helping to ensure the continued existence of the business division. As a general planner, aib and aib tec developed a bespoke architecture for the high requirements on the plant.

 

 

 

 

Bespoke infrastructure with BIM

One of the particular challenges when planning the Turbocharger Performance Center was the highly complex infrastructure inside the building. Combustion gases, oils, compressed air, electricity and other media are guided through a very extensive piping network. In order to be able to visualise and plan this network, the aib and aib tec rely on Building Information Modelling. The piping network model developed by MAN is hereby adapted to the three-dimensional model of the building inch-perfect. The complete digitisation of the planning data in the final planning phase led to greater accuracy and completeness, above all when planning the very extensive slots and breaches in this project. A lot more planning work would have been necessary without BIM.

 

Harmonious overall picture

aib also developed a convincing architectural solution for the specific requirements and processes of the Turbocharger Performance Center. The carefully detailed building of the compact hall fits in perfectly with the MAN design guidelines. An attractive and economically viable design was also realised for elements such as the entrances and traffic routes. Together with the new media building, which was also planned by aib, this results in a very harmonious overall picture.

  • Project Info

    Client: MAN Energy Solutions SE (ehem. MAN Diesel & Turbo SE)

    Location: Augsburg

    Gross Floor Area (GFA): 5,400 m²

    Team aib: Pieter F. den Haan, Philippe Vernin, Eveline Clemens-Wigger, Roland Schmidt, Georg Hahues, Marcin Ewý, Gordon Hoffmann

    aib Services: General Planning

    aib tec Services: Adaptation of the room air and
    a/c technology: EE/BSE/I&C, planning services in the service phases 3-8, preparation of the design plans based on preliminary plans from a third-party planner; planning, tendering documents, contract award recommendations, site coordination and monitoring

     

German

Imprint and data protection

MAN Energy Solutions (ehem. MAN Diesel & Turbo)

Turbocharger Performance Center und Mediengebäude

Hochkomplexe Planung für zukunftsweisendes Gebäude

Auf der Grundlage einer Machbarkeitsstudie von aib wird der Augsburger Standort von MAN Diesel & Turbo SE um ein einzigartiges Gebäude erweitert. Das neue Turbocharger Performance Center (TPC) dient der Entwicklung und dem Testbetrieb von Turbomaschinen für große Dieselmotoren. Hochkomplexe Prozesse verbinden sich hier mit einer zukunftsweisenden Prüftechnik und tragen damit zur Sicherung der Unternehmenssparte bei. Als Generalplaner entwickelten aib und aib tec eine maßgeschneiderte Architektur für die hohen Anforderungen an den Betrieb.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maßgeschneiderte Infrastruktur mit BIM

Zu den speziellen Herausforderungen bei der Planung des Turbocharger Performance Centers gehört die hochkomplexe technische Infrastruktur innerhalb des Gebäudes. Verbrennungsgase, Öle, Druckluft, Strom und andere Medien werden durch ein sehr umfangreiches Rohrleitungsnetz geführt. Um dieses Netz sichtbar zu machen und planen zu können, setzen aib und aib tec das Building Information Modeling ein. Hierbei wird das durch MAN entwickelte Rohrleitungsnetzmodell zentimetergenau in das dreidimensionale Modell des Gebäudes eingepasst. Die komplette Digitalisierung der Planungsdaten in der Phase der Ausführungsplanung führte zu einer höheren Präzision und Vollständigkeit, vor allem für die in diesem Projekt sehr umfangreiche Schlitz- und Durchbruchsplanung. Ohne BIM hätte es einen erheblichen planerischen Mehraufwand gegeben.

 

Stimmiges Gesamtbild

Für die spezifischen Anforderungen und Prozesse des Turbocharger Performance Centers entwickelte aib eine auch architektonisch überzeugende Lösung. Der sorgfältig detaillierte Baukörper der kompakten Halle steht im Einklang mit den Design Guidelines von MAN. Selbst für Elemente wie die Zufahrtstore und Verkehrswege wurde ein ansprechendes und wirtschaftlich realisierbares Design konzipiert. Gemeinsam mit dem ebenfalls von aib geplanten neuen Mediengebäude entsteht so ein besonders stimmiges Gesamtbild.

  • Projektinfo

    Auftraggeber: MAN Energy Solutions SE (ehem. MAN Diesel & Turbo SE)

    Standort: Augsburg

    Bruttogeschossfläche (BGF): 5.400 m²

    Team aib: Pieter F. den Haan, Philippe Vernin, Eveline Clemens-Wigger, Roland Schmidt, Georg Hahues, Marcin Ewý, Gordon Hoffmann

    Leis­tun­gen aib: Generalplanung

    Leis­tun­gen aib tec: Anpassung der Raumluft- und Klimatechnik: ELT/TGA/MSR, Planungsleistungen in

    der Leistungsphase 3-8, Erstellung der Entwurfs-
    planung auf Basis einer Vorplanung eines dritten Fachplaners; Planungen, Ausschreibungsunter-
    lagen, Vergabeempfehlungen, Objektüberwachung

     

     

Impressum und Datenschutz